Friday, March 4, 2011

A Closer Look at Hoboken High's Theatre Awards Since 1998

Awards and Recognitions
1998: HHS entered its first Paper Mill Playhouse competition with a production of Fiddler on the Roof and was nominated in three categories. Reny Rosado (Tevye) was nominated for Best Actor and went on to receive a scholarship to attend an intensive summer workshop at the Paper Mill Playhouse.
1999: Hoboken High School's production of Once on this Island won for Best Overall Musical in NJ at the Paper Mill Playhouse Rising Star Awards. In addition, Erich Raush won for Best Musical Director and Vadim Avksentyev won for Best Lighting. HHS became part the "Adopt-a-School Program" sponsored by the Paper Mill Playhouse's educational department.
2000: Dreamgirls received nominations for Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor and Best Graphics. Malachy Orozco won the Best Supporting Actor category.
2002: West Side Story, received 13 Paper Mill Playhouse nominations including, Best Musical, Best Direction, Best Choreography, Best Poster Design, Best Set Design, and Best Overall Production. That year, Hoboken High School received the most nominations than any other school in the state.
2004: Junior Pedro Jimenez received the prize for "Best Actor in the State of NJ" at the STANJ Festival held at Rutgers University. He also won the "Best Comedic Pairs" category along with partner Javier Nieves, a freshman at the school. Junior Colleen Kirk and Senior Manny Medina won "Best Actress and Best Supporting Actor," respectively, for Ragtime in the prestigious Rising Star Awards held at Paper Mill Playhouse in Millburn, NJ. Paper Mill Playhouse presented HHS with the Young Critics' Award. This exciting program allows our students to view a season of performances at the Playhouse free of charge to students. The program also includes performance and writing workshops for the students.
2005: Students from the Drama Program won "Best Large Group" for their performance of a scene from The Crucible, held at the Teen Arts Festival at New Jersey City University. Christian Castro and Kristina Merced also won in the "Best Pairs" division of the competition.
2006: Diandra Soto won "Best Actress" at the Paper Mill Awards for her performance in the musical Raisin.
2009: The Odyssey won 4 awards at the Montclair State University, "Theatre Night" Awards - Best Overall Production, Best Classical Production, Best Sound and Best Costumes. Joe McCourt and Diandra Soto were nominated in best actor categories. Paula Ohaus also won Best Director for the production. In June, Paula Ohaus received the coveted Jimmy Award for National Best Theater Educator.
2010: Saquan Williams received the award for Best Dramatic Monologue at the STANJ Festival at Rutgers University. Fires in the Mirror, originally performed in December 2009, was specially requested by the mayor of Hoboken to run as an encore performance in February 2010. Aida received nominations for Best Supporting Actor and Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble Member.
Paper Mill Playhouse Summer Conservatory-Millburn, NJ:
Colleen Kirk, Michelle Martinovich, Malachy Orozco, Deborah Rodriguez, Jennifer Rosado, Reny Rosado, Saquan Williams
Governor's Award:
Christian Castro, Namibia Donadio, Pedro Jimenez, Javier Nieves, Saquan Williams

No comments:

Post a Comment